Learning Town, Geek and Sundry’s New Web Series

Today, a new series called Learning Town premiers. Right now, actually.

Ever since it was announced, I’ve been looking forward to Learning Town, a web series by Paul and Storm on the Geek and Sundry YouTube channel. This was partly because Geek and Sundry is Felicia Day’s channel, and I’m a huge fan. And partly because Paul and Storm have created some of the funniest songs I’ve ever heard. So just imagine my excitement when I was contacted by Geek and Sundry to review the first episode.

If you don’t need any more convincing to watch it, here’s the episode. If you do, I can do that too.

Here follows a spoiler free review.

Learning Town centers around the main protagonists, Paul and Storm, taking over a kid’s show after the previous host dies. I should point out that, despite the premise, the show is not aimed at kids.

I honestly have no idea what I was expecting. But for whatever reason, I don’t think I was expecting a story. Maybe I thought each episode would be a comedic song, or something. I did get a story, though, and I’m definitely interested in seeing how it unfolds. The premise itself is simple, if strangely unique, but it’s the details that make the show so promising.

Paul and Storm themselves are very entertaining. I see some of the quirky characterizations I like so much, and the facial expressions are hilarious. Over-exaggeration is used to great effect with all of the characters in general, and kind of sets the mood for the show.

The thing that really grasped me about this episode was the comedic touches. You’d think with musicians like Paul and Storm, it would the lyrics to the songs that make the show funny. But actually, it was the visual comedic touches that I really liked. This is promising, because I know they can write funny songs already. But including these momentary, almost background, events that contrast so nicely with the main focus of what’s happening?

I think I’m going to enjoy watching Learning Town.

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.