World Building in The Lies of Locke Lamora

Borrowed from upload.wikimedia.org

This book, set in a city evocative of Venice, is about a group of conmen who unwittingly become dragged into the middle of a political power struggle.

What I think really works about this book is the world building. From gladiators fighting sharks to a religious cult obsessed with their own mortality, it’s the details of the world and how it works that pulls readers in. I didn’t mind when the book went on to describe various anecdotes of situations the characters had been in, because they let us see more of the setting.

This book is a prime example of how to use descriptions and world building effectively.

As an aside, the cover art is clearly reminiscent of the Piazza San Marco, in Venice.

Borrowed from europeforvisitors.com

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to World Building in The Lies of Locke Lamora

  1. Redhead says:

    I’m reading Lies of Locke Lamora right now (for the umpteenth time) for a read along, and just this afternoon I was realising how wonderful the world building is. I really feel like I am there, like I know my way around the city, like I would recognize plazas and places. Great find on the plaza the cover art was most likely inspired by!

    • Marie Erving says:

      Thanks! Yeah, when I was thinking of a work where it’s the setting that really has the power to draw you in, this immediately came to mind.

  2. Pingback: Discount Armageddon, Cryptozoology | Marie Erving

Comments are closed.