Verona

A lot of people know Verona as the setting of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, and indeed, Juliet’s house is situated in the city (despite the small detail that she didn’t exist.) There are also an assortment of souvenirs available related to this theme.

For me, though, one of the more exciting parts of the city were the ancient roman remains. I spent a semester last year studying abroad in Rome, and most of what I studied was ancient history. So I certainly have a prior interest in the topic.

Borrowed from sights-and-culture.com

The coolest part of being in Verona was probably seeing the amphitheater. This amphitheater is the largest north of Rome. In the summer, there are concerts here, as visible in the above photo. As I came in the spring, I didn’t get to go to those, but I was lucky enough to hear some guy sing a little bit of impromptu opera while we were there. All in all, pretty cool.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.