Venice

I tend to think of Venice as a city of atmosphere. Yes, there are interesting sites, but when I go to Venice, I never seem to focus most of my time on them. Instead, it’s the walking around and finding new places that’s interesting. Well, that, and getting lost. I spent a lot of time using the water buses on the first day–they’re very convenient, especially if you need to get somewhere and can’t figure out how to get there on foot.

Borrowed from 30daysinitaly.com

The second day was spent walking, though. I had an especially interesting time when I stopped by some of the canals somewhat behind the Piazza San Marco, watching bellboys from some nearby hotels chasing down lost guests. And let’s not forget the traghetti, large gondolas that act as ferries across the Grand Canal. Oh, and you get to stand in them. You don’t have to, but you can and it’s fun.

There are, of course, the big tourist areas in Venice. Piazza San Marco and the Rialto bridge, primarily. And they’re both great places to see. But there’s a lot of fun to be had just wandering about the city, too.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.