Advice to Self, Trust Your Instincts!

Borrowed from fotopedia.com; photo by János Fehér

Pretty much everyone says that, in order to write and try to publish, you have to be able to bounce back from a lot of disappointment. And I expected that to be true going in, but feeling it is definitely an interesting turn of events. Luckily, I didn’t stay discouraged for very long. In fact, I’m fairly sure I’ve learned something new from it, and that’s what this post is about.

As a side note, I realized that it might be worth it, at some point, to submit work to magazines that have a high rate for personal responses. Hearing just that little bit of input if the story isn’t accepted can be very beneficial.

The point, however, is that the stories that I’m much more sure of tend to do better. Granted, I have a small reference pool of submitted stories to draw from, but this is what I’m noticing right now. It isn’t enough to think that most of the story works. If there’s something I’m wavering on, even if I think it might be okay, that’s the thing I need to fix.

Because the personal criticism I’ve received thus far didn’t surprise me too much when I got it. I had known when I submitted that work, in the back of my head, that if it was going to be rejected for something, this was it. And I was right.

So my current advice, to myself and anyone else who cares to hear it, is this: trust your instincts and don’t settle for good enough.

As a disclaimer, this is what I’ve noticed applying to me. If your experience is different, or if something different works for you, I’m not surprised, because every individual can tailor their method to their own style of working. Of course, I would love to hear about it, so please comment, if you do!

This entry was posted in Writing/Publishing Perspective and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.