Monty Python’s Parrot Sketch: Great Comedy

The parrot sketch is probably one of the most famous and well regarded sketch from Monty Python out there. And potentially the best, too. (Btw, if anyone likes them, Monty Python has a youtube channel.)

I tend to be fairly picky about my comedy. Even the best comedy tends to be hit or miss for me. But the first half of the parrot sketch from Monty Python is hilarious, and I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t agree. I’m sure they’re out there, but I don’t know about them, though I’d be curious to hear their opinions on the sketch, too.

And I’d also be interested in hearing from anyone what it is that makes this sketch funny. Because I can’t quite put my finger on what makes this funny for me. Is it the ridiculousness of the situation, played out so seriously? Maybe that’s part of it, but that kind of concept alone doesn’t make something funny. Is it because a potentially serious situation that most people have encountered plays out to a comedic extreme? I don’t know.

But it doesn’t really matter, does it? It just works.

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monty Python’s Parrot Sketch: Great Comedy

  1. This may not help much, but Cleese does anger very well.

Comments are closed.