Ember: A Different Kind of Cinderella

Borrowed from bettiesharpe.com

Ember is a free web novel, a retelling of Cinderella. I personally think that fairy tale retellings can be kind of fun, so I was glad to have found this one. I enjoyed that all of the characters were treated with respect, and I definitely enjoyed seeing Cinderella portrayed as an anti-hero.

I should probably warn that despite the story being based on a fairy tale, it isn’t really for children.

I love how this story weaves in details of the Cinderella story, but puts them in a completely different context. The Prince was cursed to be charming. Rumors went around the neighborhood of how Ember (Cinderella) was treated as a servant. The Cinder Girl persona existed. There was a ball, and there was a shoe. It even managed to incorporate some more gory details from the older pre-Disney fairy tales, which was nice to see.

But these details only set up the framework of the story. The heart of the story is completely different. Bonus points for inverting bits of other fairy tales, as well.

This entry was posted in History/Mythology, Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.