Black Death Music Video

The youtube channel has a lot of music videos for various history topics. Can’t promise I’ll never post another one, because some of them are pretty cool.

For this video in particular, I’d never actually heard about the the tongue turning black before. On the All Empires History Community (sources at the bottom of their page), they mention a white coating on the tongue and later, that the tongue might turn yellow or brown. Not black, though. Anyone know anything about that?

This entry was posted in History/Mythology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Black Death Music Video

  1. Psycho Gecko says:

    They’d have been better served by using remixes of speeches and specials like how Symphony of Science does.

    Horrible mess, black plague. Didn’t realize it had anything to do with fleas on rats either. Jewish ghettoes were relatively better off in that regard, due to their tendency to keep cats and to worry slighlty more about hygiene and cleanliness (for the day). Unfortunately, because they weren’t afflicted as much, the Christians figured the plague was either punishment for tolerating Jews or was some sort of witchcraft caused by Jews around. That’s more to do with that persecution noted in the video. Kill off a Jewish village, fill in the well, and then take their kids and give them to Christian couples to raise as Christians.

    It also gave us the image of the plague doctor which has become somewhat better known in the Assassin’s Creed series. Black coats and birdlike beaked masks with special herbs in the beak.

    The skeletons in the artwork have also been slightly influential in Slender Man Mythos, for what little that’s worth.

    About the tongues, I’m afraid I don’t know.

    • Psycho Gecko says:

      *They didn’t realize it had anything to do with fleas on rats either.

    • Marie Erving says:

      I just checked out Symphony of Science, and I think it’s pretty cool, so thanks for mentioning it.

      Your post made me realize that a few of the mentions in the video are probably harder to get for people with less familiarity to the history. Maybe I should have included a few more details in my post to elaborate on those parts. That’s something I’ll try to keep in mind for next time.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        Nobody can be expected to know everything.

        As for Symphony of Science, most of those are pretty good, and they make the subject matter more accessible. I realized after posting that I have a tendency to throw some other thing out there, like House of Leaves or Discworld, when I comment here. In this case, it’s just that I felt that a history-lesson version of Hollaback Girl was a little too “rapping white professor” when compared to a better example I knew that was also educational. Hope you don’t mind my odd diversions to other works like that.

        (Warning, another big diversion coming up, but slightly more closely related)
        Heck, come to think of it, I know of an album that’s history-minded AND seems to be ok music the little I’ve seen of it, with a big name star. Dracula, Fu Manchu, Saruman, Count Dooku himself. World War 2 veteran in Britain’s Special Operations Executive, whose exact actions are still classified, though that knowledge was apparently useful in his role as Saruman when they needed to know what it actually sounded like to stab someone in the back. After the war, he worked in the war crimes investigations. The man who wanted a piece of James Bond from the very start, but was only given one bullet and a golden gun to do so. The Guinness Book of World Record’s holder of “Most Film Acting Roles” and “Tallest Leading Actor”, and a man who enjoys himself some metal.

        Christopher Lee is Charlemagne in “Charlemagne: By the Sword and the Cross”

        “I have been metal all my life, only I did not know about it. The people in this album (Charlemagne) and I, share the same values.” – Sir Christopher Lee

      • Marie Erving says:

        No, it’s fine that you bring up other related works and make references. Sometimes I’ll check them out and really like them. And I think bringing up something like Symphony of Science in the comments actually contributes to the type of stuff I’m trying to talk about in my post.

Comments are closed.