Last Weekend’s Trip to Cape Cod

So yeah, I went to Cape Cod last weekend. I may have forgotten to mention that, because sometimes I forget things. I’m working on it.

So anyway, we headed out the first day to go swimming in the ocean. Whereupon I discovered one reason to keep up with current events:

We were at High Head Beach in North Truro. No one was swimming here–although we later went to another beach in the area where there were a lot of sandbars, and plenty of people “swam” very happily in knee-deep water.

At High Head, though, didn’t see anyone swimming. What we did discover upon closer inspection of the water was that there were seals in it.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a good camera available, so I took this with my phone. However, there is clearly a seal in the water. Well, there’s clearly something in the water, and I know it’s a seal because that’s what the signs around the beach said. There were plenty more, but this one got particularly close.

This whole area is a national park–the Cape Cod National Seashore. Beautiful area. During low tide, a long sandbar appears at High Head, where the seals allegedly beach. Lots of signs warn not to approach the seals because they can mess you up.

Here’s CapeCast with recent footage of the seals at High Head:

And if you don’t mind clicking over to YouTube, since this video can’t be embedded, here’s a hilarious video of a seal stealing a fish from a fisherman in 2010. Don’t mess with seals. I mean, look at that guy move. And he’s pretty sizable too.

The area around High Head Beach had a lot of sand dunes, too. We had to walk past them and climb over one to reach the beach from the parking lot. Here’s the last bit of the trek to the beach:

Other than that, we drove over to look at Provincetown. Nice town. We walked down a crowded street with a large amount of small shops and other buildings surrounding it. Generally, there would only be half a sidewalk on one side of the street, but I noticed a lot of people just walking on the road.

So that was the most exciting part of my week. How was your week?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last Weekend’s Trip to Cape Cod

  1. Jane says:

    Hi Marie!
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blog posts about Truro to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you 🙂
    Jane

  2. Psycho Gecko says:

    Bah, your silly Cape Cod can’t compare to the glory of the Redneck Riviera! The Gulf of Mexico calls to you. Sharks? No need to worry, silly. With the massive oil spill a couple of years back, and the fact that they’ve tossed all kinds of things into the gulf before (Lewisite, anyone?), and T’leth the lost alien colony, there’s no way the sharks could survive all that long.

    • Marie Erving says:

      I haven’t heard that term before, but you do know how to sell a place. Especially love using a lost alien colony as a plus. Most of the stuff I’ve come across seems to indicate that the shark populations are also endangered by fishing. But I know, that’s a much less attractive selling point than the oil spill.

      Actually, now that I think about it, one of my professors did try to sell me on the Gulf because of the oil spill…or specifically because of the research that was being done on it.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        Can you really blame me for hyping it up? It’s boring around here if you’re not a tourist. Even a trip to a water park turns into a major disaster, with car crashes and people losing glasses on innertube river rides. By the way, you know why the Middle East really hates us? A bunch of desert countries that dig for water and instead get oil have to watch us waste water all over the place on golf courses and water parks. We’d be pissed if our gas was up higher and we saw them going down a giant oil slide to land in a pool of oil near a fountain spraying oil and river of oil with innertubes on it.

        The good news: the oil spill didn’t leave the Gulf quite as bad off as people thought.
        The bad news: that’s because the ecosystem in the gulf isn’t the best around anyway.

        Yes, shark overfishing is a bit of a problem around here. Our seafood is supposed to be good, though. I just don’t care for seafood. It tastes horrible, can carry really nasty parasites if eaten raw or undercooked, it smells horrible, it’s better for the environment to ease up on eating fish, and we’re pumping enough chemicals that don’t get purified into the water now, like birth control, that fish are starting to become very strange. It doesn’t affect saltwater fish so much. Yet. Still, if you’re into exotic new fish tastes, we’re one of the few places that eats mullet (the fish, not the hairdo, though you can certainly spot a few of the latter in the wild).

        If a lost alien colony that will only become active during the events of X-Com: Terror from the Deep doesn’t appeal to you, then perhaps you’d be interested in the Gulf of Mexico having some of the world’s most beautiful beaches, with nice white sand, clear water, gay pride events on Memorial Day, and the occasional airshow from the Blue Angels. If you’re a fan of cryptozoology, Florida is also home to the elusive skunk ape. I suspect the skunk part comes from being a large primate covered in hair in Florida during the summer.

        Speaking of Florida heat, be prepared to sweat if you come down here. If you’re from far enough north, you’d probably prefer to be a snowbird given our mild winters. Just be careful at late summer/early fall. For some reason, hurricanes keep showing up and heading towards some of the areas that have the most churches in the country. It almost makes you wonder if we need more…

      • Marie Erving says:

        Ah, I’m not sure I’d describe US world relations in terms of water slides, if I was forced to talk about it. But I have just one trip left for the year, and it isn’t to Florida or anywhere around the gulf, sorry. This has been a pretty busy year for me in terms of travel, come to think, though less so than last year. It’ll probably settle down next year.

  3. Psycho Gecko says:

    I suppose there might be more than a thousand years worth of political, religious, and cultural conflict at play too.

    It’s like I talked about at the end of my famous lecture “Who Pooped in the Ball Pit? A Comprehensive Examination of World War I”

Comments are closed.