Sights of San Francisco

Last week, I went on a trip to San Francisco. So here are some of the places we went and things we saw.

There’s the Golden Gate Bridge, a suspension bridge around 1.7 miles in length. We drove over it with a bus tour, and the driver called it “the impossible bridge”.

Golden Gate Brige

The famous part of Lombard Street

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then there’s the crooked section of Lombard Street, one block of swerving down eight turns to get down the road. Needless to say, the cars driving down this street weren’t going very fast. I did notice that tourists appeared to have rented cars and decided to take the opportunity to drive down the road (the cameras gave them away). The curves are supposed to serve a practical function–to make the hill less steep for travel.

Lombard Street, just before the curved section

At the top of this block, there’s a cable car stop. San Francisco’s cable cars are famous, as the only remaining cable car system to be operated manually. I believe they are the only of the nationally recognized historic places that can move. They’re also very cramped, and there’s typically a line to get on them. The exception to that was the one line that’s a bit away from the other two, on California Street. We actually managed to sit outside in that one, and I even got to hang onto the side as the car went up the hill. It was pretty fun, although I do remember some rougher turns on the other lines that I didn’t experience on this one.

Cable Car

I should note that this is a very hilly city, which makes the cable cars even more fun, right? As someone who really likes hills, I can say that I enjoyed the inclines and declines, even when I had to walk them. They added to the visual appeal.

And of course, speaking of visual appeal, my favorite place in the city was Golden Gate Park. We sort of walked around there aimlessly, but that worked out fine. In the section we were in, at least, there was something different to see everywhere. Every location looked different, and had different landscaping/decoration. We went to the Shakespeare Garden, climbed a random hill that had a very scenic viewpoint, and went to a museum. Then we hiked an island with a tall hill.

On the hill with the view, Golden Gate Park

And of course, we went to the Japanese Tea Gardens, which is a beautiful location. I especially enjoyed the stepping stones and the moon bridge.

Moon bridge in the Japanese Tea Gardens, Golden Gate Park

Stepping Stones in Japanese Tea Garden, Golden Gate Park

Anyone traveled recently? What was your favorite part?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sights of San Francisco

  1. Psycho Gecko says:

    Most of my traveling was ended a couple of years ago when my time away at college was done with. I spent a lot of time in Memphis, and survived (you’d swear I oughta be dead the way people talk about the place) though I didn’t exactly see all the tourist sites while I was there. Never did manage to go to the zoo, though back before my freshman year I managed to visit Graceland twice. One because my parents wanted to, and one for some sort of orientation trip for the college that also saw us visit the memorial to Danny Thomas, founder of St. Jude’s. Beale Street never appealed to me, though, as I don’t drink towards intoxication.

    One thing that bothers me is that I never took a trip to two places. One was a tiny town that is known in Tennessee as the middle of nowhere. So instead of someone saying something was in the middle of nowhere, or Bumfuck, Iowa, or something like that, they just said it was like Bucksnort, Tennessee.

    The other place was a town whose name I saw on the trip up there that sticks in my mind. Yazoo City.

    Now, when you were going to San Francisco, did you have some flowers in your hair? Doesn’t matter to me, just had something to do with a song. If I had remembered it, I would have recommended a few stops for you about Emperor Norton, Emperor of the United States and Protector of Mexico. He wasn’t all there, but San Francisco humored him with influence and his own personal currency was accepted around the place. Amongst his commands that didn’t tend to be followed was the building of a bridge and tunnel that finally came to fruition in 1936 and 1974 respectively, although San Francisco refused to name them after him.

    I think I also checked to see if S.K. Thoth might be around San Francisco when you were visiting, but he and Lila’Angelique weren’t. They’re street prayformers who make quite beautiful music, but they aren’t exactly in a normal tour or anything.

    • Marie Erving says:

      I’ve never actually been anywhere too far inland in the US, only to places around the perimeter and near water. Nowhere like Tennessee. Definitely going to have to do something about that…

      I completely forgot Emperor Norton was in San Francisco! Oh, well, knowing about him is good enough. And reading the Sandman issue he was featured in.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        I’ve been around the South, but not for too much sightseeing. Furthest west for me has been either the former Jazzland near New Orleans or this one time I got lost looking for a Wal-Mart and wound up in Arkansas. Further north, and it may technically qualify as North, was a trip up to West Virginia having to do with some relatives. Those mountains are colder in the summer than many days of a Florida winter. I say may technically qualify as North because of the unique circumstances of West Virginia’s founding. It was just part of Virginia until Virginia seceded. Then it chose to secede from Virginia and stay in the Union. Whether slavery supported tended to have to do with local terrain a lot more than people realize. Like how the mountainous parts of Tennessee weren’t too fond of it, yet I worked on an archeological dig of an area that used to have plantations that was an hour and a half or so out of Memphis.

        As for southeast, I think I’ve only been as far as Disney World, and only far enough east at most to have gambled in international waters on the Atlantic.

        The road trip aspect isn’t too bad, actually. I’d love to go on one with friends. Grab some snacks and drinks, put on good music, and just drive away. Flying isn’t too bad either. Takeoff and landing remind me of a roller coaster.

        But then, I guess that’s a little bit of a cliche of something Stephen King often repeated during the Dark Tower series. Enjoy the journey more than the destination.

      • Marie Erving says:

        Unfortunately, I’m not sure the reality of a road trip would be as good as the fantasy, for me. There’s carsickness, first off. And I’m a bit too restless to enjoy spending that much time continuously sitting. It’d be better if I could read, but I usually can’t in cars.

Comments are closed.