“Top Ten Bookish Confessions”

Another top ten list from The Broke and the Bookish, this one is for confessions.

Borrowed from snuffbooks.com

I’m taking the confessions part of this theme seriously, so I’m going to be mentioning personal preferences and even a thing or two that I might be personally embarrassed about. It isn’t going to seem like a big deal to people who aren’t me, but oh well. Also, some of these confessions may skew a bit towards my media preferences in general. So, here goes.

1. I haven’t read Harry Potter. I know, I know. But I’m not going to read something just because everyone else is reading it. So there.

2. If something has vampires in it and I’m actually reading it, it’s despite the vampires. Sorry current pop culture trends, vampires creep me out a little. I mean, they use pointy objects to draw blood from your neck. That’s the ultimate nightmare blood drawing. I won’t stop reading a good book because of them, but it had better be a good book for me to keep reading. I think Karen Chance might be the only writer I read whose books features vampires as romantic heroes. The only one. And I’m reading her books for the complexity of the time travel and the quality of her very chaotic action scenes, certainly not for the vampires.

3. I’m terrible at visualizing scenery. Absolutely terrible. I’m mostly a dialogue kind of girl.

4. I have a very heavy bias towards speculative fiction. It is fairly difficult to get me to step outside of genre fiction, especially when it comes to reading. I actually just combed my room looking for something that didn’t qualify as fantasy or sci-fi. And I did manage to find a few historical fiction books that I liked and some movies. But it took some looking.

5. I like my casts gender balanced. I have no idea why. I’m less likely to pick something up if it’s an all male or all female cast (or almost all, in either case). This doesn’t stop me from reading/watching something with an unbalanced cast and loving it if it’s good, but it may make me hesitate to give something a chance.

6. I’m a hoarder. I have a large piles of books all over my room, wherever they’ll fit. You’d think this would improve with the e-book market, but I can’t manage to make myself delete anything off of my kindle either.

7. I’ve managed to read stuff at the two extremes of the publishing spectrum, but I’m having a bit more trouble finding good stuff in the middle. As in, I read both traditional publishing and blog fiction that I very much love and for which I follow the authors. But I’ve yet to read enough indie/self-published stuff to find something I really love coming from there. I know, bad me. I’ll try harder. In fact, I just got some stuff on my kindle, so I’ll be looking through those.

8. I usually need to take short breaks when I read a particularly interesting passage, in order to think it over, before continuing to read the book.

9. I really want to see more urban fantasy leads who aren’t investigators or mercenaries, ect. I’d love to see more diversity in the career paths represented. Yes, I’m asking for a bit much. Write what you know, and all that. Maybe I just wish people with diverse experiences would write more fiction, who knows? That is not to say that there aren’t fantastic books/series with characters that investigate. There are, and I read some of them. But sometimes the field feels a little narrow where I want it to be wide.

10. Things like torn or folded pages bother me for no apparent reason.

Anyone else want to contribute to the confessions?

 

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Top Ten Bookish Confessions”

  1. One number one- good for you! I’ve read them, but I haven’t, and refuse to, read the Twilight books or Fifty Shades. Gotta stick to your guns!

    • Marie Erving says:

      Nice to get a positive response on that from someone who’s read the books. I usually encounter a lot more shock and ‘how could you?’ So thanks!

  2. You must be the third or so person today who’s “confessed” to never having read Harry Potter, so you’re definitely not alone! I think they’re great books but I’ve never been someone who thinks everyone should read a particular book, or that you’re crazy if you don’t like it. Personally, I can’t fathom those kinds of reactions.

    I’m a hoarder too. 🙂 I can’t get rid of my books, and I don’t like borrowing them because I don’t want to return them. Even if it was crap, I want to keep it. I spent a lot of money shipping my books to Canada, and I’m going to be spending way more shipping them back to Australia next year, but my husband has resigned himself to this fact and that’s all there is to it!

    #9 – YES!! Why oh why does urban fantasy always have to be about crime, mysteries and detectives of the paranormal sort? Okay so I know they’re not always like that, but these days that kind really outnumbers any other kind. And I’ve always been bored by crime books, so even when you combine it with urban fantasy I struggle to stay interested.

    My list.

  3. Psycho Gecko says:

    1. I really like short stories. I’m not sure what the ratios really are, but it’s possible that I’ve read almost as many short stories as books. I know I’ve read more of Stephen King’s short stories than his novels. Some of them have some really good stuff that just doesn’t fit an entire book.

    2. Even though I generally like to read the book that’s been turned into a movie or TV show, I doubt I will with True Blood. I don’t like mixing erotica with my normal recreational reading, and the show certainly has a lot of sex in it. This is also why I won’t read Laurell K. Hamilton.

    3. I’ve never read any of George R. R. Martin’s books.

    4. When I have to read something, like for college, not only do I never finish the required reading, but I do less recreational reading. Hardly read a whole book for 4 whole years there.

    5. I like a genre that urban fantasy would probably look down on. Alternate history.

    6. I bought the book for the Disney movie Sky High just because I like superhero fiction so much. (as opposed to superhero nonfiction? They’ll figure it out) That’s a Goosebumps-sized book, and I was in high school at the time.

    7. I didn’t fully get the joke in Hamlet about country matters until a couple of years after reading it. I was like “Well, it says it is a dirty joke about sex…maybe that’s just a term they had back then,” but then years later I was thinking back on it, “Ooooooh, how could I have missed that?”

    8. I dogear books.

    9. I actually read some articles in a Playboy.

    10. I read War & Peace earlier in my life than I ever read Harry Potter, The Dark Tower Series, Discworld, or The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy… And I read Lord of the Rings even sooner than that. I’m in my early twenties.

    Bonus! 11th tell-all confession!: I take it personally when someone writes bad history, despite only having a Bachelor’s in History. Alternate history is one thing, but history or historical fiction like that put out by David Barton or Bill O’Reilly annoys me to no end. I may not be a historian, but I know a lot more about writing it than they do and I can at least do basic research (unlike O’Reilly) and I would never distort it for even for ideology (unlike Barton).

  4. Marie Erving says:

    I think alternate history can be pretty cool, though most of the stuff I’ve read that touches on that genre has elements of genre fiction in it. That said, I’ve seen some urban fantasy series use elements of alternate history, especially when the series begins with the world already knowing about supernaturals.

    In terms of history, it’s also really cool when you get bonus references.

Comments are closed.