Avengers vs Dark Knight Rises Poll

The two most talked about superhero movies this year, right? I’m pretty sure I saw debates online about which movie was better before either came out.

So I’m curious what you guys think. By now, most people who were planning on seeing in theaters probably have, so I think it’s a good time to ask. (Translation: I’m doing the poll now because I finally saw Dark Knight Rises last week). I’ll embed a HISHE parody clip for Dark Knight Rises under the poll, for fun.

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Avengers vs Dark Knight Rises Poll

  1. Amethyst says:

    It’s hard to say. I loved both of them. The Avengers just barely wins, I think, because it was more fun and it managed to stay away from obvious political references. Plus it wins the eye candy contest in volume. But The Dark Knight Rises was still awesome. The fangirl in me loved so many things about the ending.

    • Marie Erving says:

      They definitely veer towards different ends of the spectrum in tone. Avengers isn’t necessarily less serious, but it does allow for funny moments even when stuff is going down. Dark Knight Rises is more unrelentingly grim. I wouldn’t even say that that’s the biggest difference between the movies for me, though. I think maybe Avengers is more character focused while Dark Knight Rises is more plot focused. Characters pretty much always win for me, as a matter of preference.

  2. I have to admit that I really didn’t like TDKR. It had so many plot holes towards the end, and I felt like I was watching a montage of action scenes rather than a story, especially with the constant music playing in the background. I loved the parts with Anne Hathaway, but everything about the energy and the bomb just felt really contrived. And I didn’t like what they did with Bane, who I’d really enjoyed as his own villain.
    Avengers actually felt like it went somewhere as a story, and though it wasn’t what I’d call groundbreaking, I had such a good time watching it. I liked how I got to know so many of the different superheroes, and I enjoyed how they all played off each other. It was a lot of fun to watch, and it didn’t fall apart when I watched it a second time. So there’s that 🙂

    • Marie Erving says:

      I do see what you mean with the plot, since I was thinking the same thing while watching the movie. Technically, it sorts itself out when Bane’s rhetoric is revealed as a red herring and revenge turns out to be the actual motive, but I still wondered why none of the good guys ever stopped to wonder why Bane’s actions were so contradictory to his stated motives. That’s pretty much why I included the HISHE video in this post–I got what they were saying. That said, the thing that didn’t work for me most in the movie was that they focused on too many characters and developed them too little. I definitely would have enjoyed it more if my expectations hadn’t been so high after The Dark Knight, though.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        Oooh boy. Way to bring up a big disappointment with me.

        It struck a bad nerve with me right from the get go. I mean, of all the things to have Batman do over the course of 8 years to be worn down physically so that he’d not be a match for Bane, especially considering how Bane wore him down in the original Knightfall story…and instead they have Batman sit around doing nothing for 8 years. War on crime, traveled the world as a criminal, trained as a ninja, became a bat dude Batman decides to give up on his parental-homicide motivated quest for justice for…some reason?

        Just because of a law that no Supreme Court would uphold? (Given Batman’s accomplishments, they don’t need a law to counter the vigilante, just putting him in Supermax. You know, the prison on U.S. soil that holds our most dangerous criminals, like Charles Manson and some terrorists?)

        I expected some sort of montage or something, newspaper articles talking about some of his rogues’ gallery showing up, being beaten, breaking out, being stopped again and again. Given the more realistic setting, they still could have managed Riddler, Penguin, Firefly, Catman, Calender Man, Black Mask, the Red Hood, Deadshot, Hugo Strange, Mad Hatter, The Ventriloquist, KGBeast, Maxie Zeus, Victor Zsasz, Hush, a version of Poison Ivy, a version of Mr. Freeze. Instead, I got something so unimaginative, it was actually working counter to the concept of imagination.

        When I brought this up elsewhere, I was told that it simply wasn’t the comic book universe. A bit of a Headscratcher, that one, seeing as there’s Batman, Alfred, Ras, Scarecrow, Joker, Comissioner Gordon, Bane, Catwoman, the Batcave, the Batmobile, Gotham City, and on and on. But then, it was a pretty good way to describe the last movie. I mean, considering how poorly the personal animosity was played between Batman and the villains, you could have put John McClane or John Rambo or another aging action movie hero, have him use gadgets and a flying car, and it works much the same.

        Also, didn’t much care for Bane somehow seeing in the dark better than Batman. Or the voice. Really, they had to make The Man Who Broke the Bat sound like an elderly British grandpa?

        Well…at least I still have The Joker Blogs. I hope they get around to Series 2 this year, but I am very glad for my Series 1 DVD. Too bad Bat in the Sun doesn’t seem to be doing too many more of their short films.

        PS, how did they determine the autopilot had been fixed? The computer of the Batplane would have been fried since it was at ground zero of a nuclear bomb and the EMP associated with such. And if there had been any extra copies of that machine left around the armory when Bane’s guys got in, they’d have taken them.

      • Marie Erving says:

        Wait, the autopilot was fixed? Did I miss something?

        I’m hearing so many different things about this movie. I don’t know more than the most basic of the basics for the DC universe, so I admittedly didn’t notice half of the things you brought up.

        Joker Blogs is pretty cool. I’ve only seen a few episodes, and I keep meaning to get back to it. Kind of a bonus that Harley Quinn’s the interviewer.

  3. Psycho Gecko says:

    Harleen being the interviewer has a lot to do with the story.

    But yeah, at the end Lucius Fox is talking to two techs working on a machine saying something about feeling better knowing there was nothing more he could have done and the techs report that The Bat’s autopilot was fixed 6 months before.

    As for the big list of rogues…in Knightfall, the introduction of Bane (who is Spanish and wears a mask modeled on that of a luchador), someone (later found out to be Bane) blows up Arkham and releases all of Batman’s enemies. That list I mentioned isn’t all of them either, just the ones I thought compatible with that trilogy’s no-superpowers setting. Batman spends months wearing himself out as he rushes to catch every single one of them. At the end, finally ready to rest with them behind bars again, he returns to the cave to find a man called Bane. He knows Batman’s identity, found the Batcave, and has run Batman ragged with his plan. Bane is a large man with experience brawling in prison, is very smart, and is pumping himself full of a drug called Venom which has some negative consequences if too much is taken, but also greatly increases Bane’s strength. At the conclusion of their fight, Bane uses a backbreaker maneuver on Batman. Batman’s back is broken (from a backbreaker? Who’da thunk it.), Bane leaves to try and take over Gotham, and Azrael (another Gotham character who was mindwashed by a religious order to be a crimefighter or soemthing) is given the mantle of Batman.

    When AzBat proved unpopular with readers, Batman’s back was retconned to merely have some disks that were messed up, so he got fixed up, rehabbed, and came back to wear the cowl once more.

    Nowadays, or at least how they were before the latest big reboot, Bane is off the Venom as a member of the Secret Six, and is more or less a surrogate father to Scandal Savage, daughter of Vandal Savage. It was rather funny to watch him question a stripper as to what her intentions were for going out with Scandal.

    • Marie Erving says:

      Oh, cool, Bane’s on the Secret Six. That’s a comic that I was immediately interested in the premise of, though I haven’t had time to actually read it, unfortunately. I feel like I end up saying that a lot.

      Yeah, I completely missed the part about the autopilot being fixed.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        Only stuff of Secret Six I’ve read was this one volume that also covered Blackest Night and a run-in with the Suicide Squad. Was still good, especially since it had that bit with Bane and the Stripper, complete with Ragdoll trying to distract Bane.

        That incarnation of the Six features a couple of other Batman villains. Deadshot, who has amazing aim and who has modified 9mm guns on his wrists when in costume, and Catman, a ripoff of Batman, but with cats, who has recently reinvented himself and is supposed to be a ferocious melee fighter. Scandal Savage isn’t bad either, probably having the best teachers her immortal father could hire. Ragdoll is flexible any way possible, and is very good at strangling opponents thanks to it. He’s just a bit on the odd side, and to accomodate the alterations to make him so oddly jointed, his privates had to be removed. He doesn’t seem to mind. There’s another couple of women, one of whom joins in that volume. That one can steal powers from any magically-powered superhero or villain in the world for a short amount of time depending on how powerful they are. The other one, she’s some sort of death-related magical thing. Super strong, which automatically makes her stronger than any of the guys in the group.

Comments are closed.