Things I liked about the Hunger Games Trilogy

Note: I’m working on some posts on the biology stuff I promised during my last post. I probably won’t be doing them weekly, or anything, but the first one should be out soon.

Borrowed from suzannecollinsbooks.com

Post Mockingjay, I decided to make a list of a few of the things I really liked about the trilogy, rather than making a separate post on Mockingjay. At this point, you know whether or not you’re going to read it based on the first two books, anyway.

As I wrote this list, I realized that most of these are kinda psychological. There are other things I liked, sure. Like the creativity of the second arena, for example. But the things that really got to me or really stuck with me were things that either affected the characters on a personal level or revealed the way they were being affected.

These were the things I came up with, separated into categories with examples, because that was how they came to me. Spoilers for the trilogy follow.

1. The small touches:

– Katniss making a list in her head of every kind action she’d ever witnessed to get through the bad moments

– the real or not real game (There’s something really sad about the notion that Peeta needed this to recover. But there’s something really powerful in the notion that the people around him chose to use this tactic because it would ultimately help him. I could be wrong, but I find that usually people try to strive for as normal as they can manage when something’s wrong, and the fact that these people chose to help Peeta in a way that continually reinforces that something is wrong? That’s very meaningful.)

– Katniss commenting on how difficult it is to stay mad at someone who cries as much as Finnick (This is just a single line, but it really stuck out to me nonetheless.)

2. The psychological warfare tactics and how especially brutal they are:

– turning Peeta against Katniss (This is a pretty scary one if you think about it, too; it states that the most important relationships in your life can be destroyed by outside influences)

– using Peeta and Annie against Katniss and Finnick (This is different from the one above; here, I’m referring to what Katniss talked about with the cat and the ball of light. Snow holding Peeta to keep Katniss occupied and unable to do her job. As long as Peeta was captured and being tortured for Katniss’ actions, Katniss wouldn’t be able to function properly.)

– the jabber jays in the second book

3. The idea of the things in your life that affect your psychology:

– Katniss not knowing how much of her feelings are a result of the first hunger games (I remember this as one of the more powerful parts of the first book for me. The idea that pretending something obscures how you really feel about it. Like, if you pretend to like something, and then actually start liking it, is it real?)

– Peeta’s conditioning (I brought it up again, but that’s just because Peeta’s regard was a significant thing for Katniss to lose.)

– Katniss thinking of Prim whenever she thinks of Gale, at the end of the trilogy

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.