New York Comic Con, Author Panel, Show Floor

There were cool signs hung up on the way to Artist Alley, where, as you can guess, artists were stationed.

New York Comic Con was completely sold out even before the event for the first time this year. I have to say, especially around Saturday afternoon, it showed. That said, it was still worth going and I had a lot of fun.

This year, I only got to go to one panel, but I loved it. It was an author panel for science fiction and fantasy. I went for Jacqueline Carey. I’m also at least a little familiar with Kim Harrison, who’s one of the bigger names in urban fantasy. Also present were Andrea Cremer, Beth Revis, Cecil Castellucci, Jocelynn Drake, Max Gladstone, Richard Kadrey, Victoria Schwab.

There something really amazing about hearing these authors talk about the worlds and characters they’ve created. And to hear them talk about the writing process or ideas in general. There was one set of really fun questions that had nothing to do with anyone’s writing–the authors were asked what monsters they thought were the scariest, and what makes that monster scary.

The ideas that they came up with were very varied–from the fear of losing your identity, to fear of the unknown, to of course, not being eaten. These people are creative and it’s interesting to see what they think up.

And most of the authors managed to make me interested in looking up their work. There are some great premises here. If I had to pick one I was most likely to read in the future based on this panel, I’d have to say I really enjoyed the way Victoria Schwab talked about her book, The Near Witch. What she seems to have done was created an original fairy tale that depended on its setting in a way fairy tales usually don’t. I really hope her book is good now, because it sounds so promising.

In case anyone is interested, here’s a recording of the panel, but be aware, it’s an hour long:

Other than that, I walked the show floor, saw a cosplay contest, and got books signed. The creator of the Phazer comic was really nice, and I hope to have a review up for an issue of that sometime. Bill Willingham, the creator of Fables, was also there, which was very exciting.

In all, just being at NYCC is something that I love to do. There’s a lot to see, and a lot of new things to be exposed to. The atmosphere is really great. A little too crowded on Saturdays, especially for those of us who aren’t so good with crowds. But that’s what Friday and Sunday are for.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.