Scientists drink the most coffee?

In my forays on the internet, I saw this. Pay close attention to number 1, because that’s what I’m going to talk about.

 

So apparently, my profession drinks the most coffee. I wonder if graduate students were counted in this survey, since we kind of skirt the line between students and workers. I’ve seen enough coffee drinking amongst my peers to think that we’d probably make a significant difference. But anyway.

Unlike many, many Americans, I don’t drink coffee. Of course, when I started graduate school, I’ve been told that this would change. I was told the same thing when I started undergraduate college and high school. At this point, you have to think that if it hasn’t started yet, it isn’t going to happen. But I keep getting the same comment, which might suggest that there are people who can’t imagine getting through a rigorous setting without coffee.

I hear someone commenting that they need a cup of coffee all the time. So how does this tie in to graduate school?

Often, people have thermal mugs and take them to class. Or they buy a cup from somewhere on their way to class. Even I’m considering getting one of those mugs, though I’d be putting tea in it rather than coffee. That way I wouldn’t have to worry about not having enough time to drink a cup of tea in the morning.

Come to think, drinking some tea before lab might be a good idea too. That way, it’s easier to do stuff that requires my brain while my experiments are running: read papers, work on take home exams, plan out my next steps in the experiment, the like.

So, coffee or tea?

This entry was posted in Life, Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.