Science Communication, Fandom, and a few more references to The Big Bang Theory

Here’s Jorge Cham, of the awesome PHD Comics, talking about the science gap. Also mentioning the impact of the stereotypes in The Big Bang Theory, for those interested. Okay, fine, I kind of get what you guys are saying. There are a couple of exceptions (or one) to those stereotypes in the show now, but it’s not enough. And one of the recent episodes was particularly frustrating, even for me. Of course, that just means we need more representations of scientists in the media so the portrayal of one show isn’t considered so definitive.

Coincidentally enough, the next video PHD comics posted also related to the Big Bang Theory–it dealt with fandom, interviewing people who were on line for the Big Bang Theory panel at Comic Con. Some of them academics. So for some differing opinions, or for a discussion of fandom, you can check out the video below:

As an addendum, I think I might start adding mini-rants whenever I encounter something in media that absolutely makes no sense to me (and pertains to science/intellectualism), but isn’t enough to count as an actual post in and of itself. Those can go at the end of my weekly science-y posts, since they’re relevant. In my opinion, anyway. So without further ado.

Silly things on TV this week:

In Once Upon a Time’s “The Outsider”, a character with no tracking experience managed to track a mythical beast in an hour, whereas a character that actually knew what she was doing took weeks. How did she pull off this amazing feat? By reading a book. She just read about the habitat the animal is usually found in, and it somehow told her exactly where the animal would be. On two separate occasions.

Unless that book doubles as a magical tracking system, I don’t see how anyone can buy this. Book knowledge doesn’t substitute practical knowledge. I relearn that every time I have to learn a new technique: theoretically knowing how something is supposed to work does not prepare you for the actual complexity of dealing with it.

I mean, what, has reading reached mythical status in our society or something?

This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.