Funniest Example of Science in Media

So, while brainstorming a post for today, I started trying to remember the most ridiculous portrayal of science I could think of. And one jumped to mind pretty quickly.

When one of my friends came to visit me and another friend during our undergraduate years, she had us watch an episode of an Asian TV show–I don’t remember which one, unfortunately. It was a cop show, and the scene which stuck out to me took place in the forensics lab. It goes as follows:

A cop duo comes to the lab with a glass bottle containing an unknown drug. The forensic scientist decides to study the bottle to figure out where it was manufactured (why she didn’t want to look at the drug itself, I don’t know).

So she takes a magnifying glass and uses it to look at the bottle. From which action she manages to deduce a few of the it’s physical properties. Like what it’s made of and that it’s heat resistant.

Borrowed from wikimedia.org; So much information about that pen now, right?

Wait, what?

Is there an engraved label with this information written on the bottle, or something? And if so, why couldn’t the cops find it themselves? Because really, anything the forensic scientist could do with that magnifying glass, they should have been able to do too.

Of course, if that magnifying glass is magic, I want one.

Does anyone else have any stories about a scene that’s stuck with them as ridiculous? It doesn’t have to be science related; I’ve seen plenty of non-science related ridiculous scenes.

This entry was posted in Media, Science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Funniest Example of Science in Media

  1. Psycho Gecko says:

    Oooh, ooh, me, I got one!

    The other day, on CNN (I think), one of their newspeople was asking Bill Nye about the asteroid coming close to Earth and asked if it was caused by global warming. To his credit, Bill Nye kept a straight face.

    • Marie Erving says:

      …really? Wow, it’s even a full-on real life example.

      • Psycho Gecko says:

        I find myself in a situation often enough where I have to do something stupid or strange and people don’t know why. What they should realize is that they, collectively at least, are why. Because sometimes I have to do things in an unusual way to account for when people do stupid, stupid things. Here for example, I have to restrain my hand from striking myself on the forehead.

Comments are closed.