This post lacks a theme, but has many links and a tiny almost-rant

First off, I created a new page this week, where I list standing recommendations for works across different types of media, for anyone interested. There’s a link somewhere at the top of the page.

Additionally, I just found out that Kelley Armstrong’s first novel, Bitten, is going to be made into a TV show in Canada. I’m not sure how I missed that, since it was announced last month. After all, Bitten was one of the first, if not the first, urban fantasy novels I’ve ever read. Of course, this brings up the question of whether or not the series will go into the later books, where the narrating POV changes–unlike most of the fans, I love the later narrators (not to mention the later relationship dynamics) better than the first one.

Kelley Armstrong is definitely a writer to respect, with over 20 books out. Personally, I’ve read 18 of them, and I’m getting around to the others. So I really hope this is good. And that it gets to books 3 and especially 4. Oh, and definitely book 6. Okay, I’ll stop now, before I get my hopes up too high.

Also, this past week, Geek and Sundry started the show Felicia’s Ark. In each episode, Felicia Day chooses the top six candidates in video games, from a subcategory of animals (ex. bears), for which ones should be saved in the event of the apocalypse:

To conclude, I’m going to throw in two short stories that I recently read from Beneath Ceaseless Skies, which is still my favorite magazine. (That’s right, there is nothing even close to resembling a theme for this post, if my title didn’t get the message across.)

Armistice Day, by Marissa Lingen

A new race of people were created to fight a war, and this story deals with these people finding a place in the world. There’s prejudice, but also kindness. The theme is a strong one, which probably isn’t brought up enough: that it’s not about different kinds of people antagonizing each other, so much as the partnership of people in general standing up for other people.

Beheaded by Peasants, by James L. Sutter

This is a look at government, revolution, and motivations from a more personal standpoint. I especially like the touch about sacrifice, and how a few very different perspectives are touched upon.

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This post lacks a theme, but has many links and a tiny almost-rant

  1. Amethyst says:

    I’m ridiculously pleased to be on a list with creators like Felicia Day, Joss Whedon, the Foglios, and the Monty Python team.

Comments are closed.