Top Ten Tuesday, “Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read”

Haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish in a while, since I felt like I was going to get too repetitive soon. There are some favorites that I tend to keep going back to. But this one’s different, and I’m also limiting myself to one per author. Fair warning, I’m not a very visual person.

I spent an hour or so, rifling through all the old books in my room, for this one. I’m really glad this topic is letting me look at books I read too long ago to do a review for, but still remember how I felt about when I was younger. So, “Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read”.

Borrowed from mariavsnyder.com

1. Poison Study, by Maria V. Snyder: I like the color contrast and the brightness here. I love the background, with the castle-esque spiral staircase, though that might be my history background bleeding through. That bit of mystery, where you can see there’s a person there but can’t see anything about her, is also attention getting. And the fact that all of that is background to the title and drawing makes it stand out more to me, for some reason.

Borrowed from nkjemisin.com

3. The Broken Kingdoms, by N. K. Jemisin: This one kind of speaks for itself. It’s a city in a giant tree, and it’s gorgeous. The cover for her first book was also beautiful, in a very different way.

Borrowed from 3.bp.blogspot.com

3. Naamah’s Curse, by Jacqueline Carey: I almost went with another Carey book, Santa Olivia, but decided to go with a book I hadn’t talked about yet, instead. This cover is really simple, and it’s the simplicity that I like. The spider design is just elegant.

Borrowed from marytrimblebooks.com

4. The Birth of Venus, by Sarah Dunant: This may be cheating a little, since the cover artist is Raphael (it’s a historical, set during the Renaissance). But the cover is beautiful, the writing is beautiful, and I don’t have the heart to keep it off this list.

Borrowed from blogspot.com

5. Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay: This author’s books have some beautiful covers, and choosing just one was really hard (especially with all the different editions and foreign versions). But I decided to go with this version of Under Heaven.

Borrowed from elmhurst.edu

6. Cleopatra VII, by Kristiana Gregory, from the Royal Diaries series: These books were my childhood–I’m specifically choosing this one, because it was the first I’d ever read and the cover is emblazoned upon my memroy. I can’t remember what I was reading before I started this series (making this the first book I remember reading, ever). This is where my life long interest in history comes from, and might possibly explain my partiality towards dynamic female protagonists.

Borrowed from sfreviews.net

7. The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch: The setting, a fantasy world based on Venice, is bound to be stunning in both description and imagery. (Well, maybe not bound to be, but Lynch excels at evoking the wonder of his setting, and the cover art is very pretty.)

Borrowed from d.gr-assets.com

8. Warlord, by Jennifer Fallon: Damin Wolfblade, standing in the forefront after now having become a man capable of being a great political/military leader. His mother, who’d pretty much single handedly gotten him there, stands and looks on in the background, congratulating herself on a job well done. Or that’s my interpretation. I like my interpretation, because it lends a bit of humor to the picture. I want to chuckle every time I look at it.

Borrowed from barnesandnoble.com

9. Acacia, by David Anthony Durham: This is a setting picture, and it makes me feel like rather than trying to catch my interest by handing out pieces of the story, it’s trying not to give anything away. If that makes sense. Of course, that might just be my knowledge of the story coloring my impression.

Borrowed from risingshadow.net

10. Fire Logic, by Laurie J. Marks: I really need to go back and finish this series, now that I found this book lying around my house. Only two books were out when I first read it, and I never got back to it, but I remember it being a very good read. With a more…maybe philosophical tone, than most fantasy novels. I can’t really pin down what about this cover I like, but I found it in a bookstore by browsing covers, and that was the basis for my getting it.

Any favorite covers you guys want to mention? Which of mine do you like best?

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.