Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

The theme for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, from The Broke and the Bookish, is popular authors I’d never read.

Having at least half of these authors on this list is probably considered blasphemous, especially in SFF, but there it stands. For once, I won’t provide any commentary. It’ll feel too much like having to defend myself, maybe.

And you can tell me in the comments which one you think is the worst crime against the genre.

Borrowed from jkrowling.com

1. JK Rowling

2. Stephanie Meyer

3. Stephen King (But I really do intend to read one of his books someday, I swear!)

4. Jane Austin

Borrowed from annerice.com

5. Anne Rice

6. David Eddings

Borrowed from hatrack.com

7. Orson Scott Card

8. Robert Jordan

Borrowed from terrybrooks.net

9. Terry Brooks

10. Isaac Asimov

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I haven’t read most of these books, but I’ve read the Harry Potter series. I grew up with them so they are a massive part of my reading life!

  2. Oh my goodness. I’m not sure which is a bigger deal to me. J.K. Rowling or Jane Austen. You’ve taken quite a stand in not reading all the favorites.

    • Marie Erving says:

      I wouldn’t call it a stand so much as…an indifference to what is or isn’t popular. I won’t read something just because everyone else is, but I also won’t not read something just because everyone else is.

      • Yeah, I totally get that. I bet you’ve discovered some really interesting and unique authors by not following the trend or bending to pressure to read what is popular.

  3. Lisa says:

    Well, I love Harry Potter, but I think for people now who haven’t read the books, it’s a really different experience vs reading them as they came out, waiting for each new book, all the speculation about what would happen, etc. I’ve read all of Austen’s books and loved them all, some more than others, and I’m definitely a King fan as well. I haven’t read anything by the last five on your list, and although I feel like I probably SHOULD, I doubt that I will. There’s just always so much to catch up on!

    • Marie Erving says:

      Everything just sort of comes down to priorities and luck. I’m sure there are plenty of books I want to read eventually, that I’ll never really get around to.

  4. Most of these authors don’t write the type of books I read, but I have read Harry Potter and plan to (one day, maybe) try Stephen King.

    • Marie Erving says:

      Stephen King is one of those that I do want to read eventually, but then I have one of his books in front of me, and I remember his reputation as a uber-amazing horror author, and I imagine myself unable to sleep for days.

  5. I think it must be different reading Harry Potter now as to reading it 15 years ago. I read it when I was younger and it wasn’t that big here until the third book came out – by which time I was leading the bandwagon amongst my friends. Reading it now… not sure it would have had the same impact on me.

    As for Twilight – read it because it was popular. Don’t understand why it’s got all the hype. There are other vampire teen stories that I consider to be superior in every way… but maybe that’s just me.

  6. Psycho Gecko says:

    I advise against Orson Scott Card, but that’s more my personal objection to providing him any money. I find his personal views abhorrent, especially his desire for armed rebellion against the U.S. if gay marriage is legalized.

    As for Stephen King, you might try the Dark Tower series, or some of his short stories. You might compare his book The Long Walk to The Hunger Games. Just keep in mind that a lot of the movie adaptations aren’t much like the stories, to the extent that he won a lawsuit over how little Lawnmower Man was like the story.

    When it comes to short stories, his collection Night Shift isn’t bad. I like that version of Jerusalem’s Lot, The Boogeyman, Gray Matter, and Quitter’s Inc.

    You might even try his non-horror works like Green Mile, Apt Pupil, and the novella Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption.

    Luckily, I’ve never read Stephanie Meyer either.

    • Marie Erving says:

      I really do intend to read King’s stuff at some point. Especially when I get over the psychological impediment of not wanting to be scared out of my mind. I’ve only ever heard great things about him.

Comments are closed.